Home » Progress » Crochet » Ahh, Crochet …

Ahh, Crochet …

Something else I was up to this month …

Sis commissioned a baby sweater for a woman she works with who’ll be back from maternity leave in a couple of weeks. These were the particulars I was working with:
1. The baby’s a girl.
2. Her mom likes Disney kinds of things and pastel pinks and bows.
3. Her dad’s a rocker who’d be more inclined to dress their new sweetie in a black Nirvana t-shirt if only mom would let him.
My mission, if I chose to accept it, was to try make them both happy.
First, I found a darker pink yarn and white buttons with flowers carved into them. Sis had suggested edging my trusty sweater pattern – the one on my sidebar that’s for sale at Knitpicks.com – with a contrasting color.
Then I nearly swooned when I found that delicious variegated riff on deep greens and blues. (I even love the James Taylor song. The video’s below in case you haven’t heard it.)
After that, I worked up a matching hat just for the heck of it. It’s hard to see in the photo, but there’s a crocheted cord woven through the hat’s edge and tied in a mock bow.
I know the pieces are still girly, but don’t you think I found some middle ground?
I delivered them to Sis last Saturday and she was happy. Mission accomplished. Whew!

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Ahh, Crochet …

      • I admire people who can crochet, probably because I can’t. I have no idea why not as both my mother and grandmother did, but they never taught me 😦 I can knit, sew and embroider. Still, I guess I have no need to crochet. Sewing is the most useful.

        JT is just one of those singers who sounds a bit dirgey to me. I do like it when people put music on their blogs though when I don’t know it, I always listen 🙂

      • I think sewing’s the most useful, too. I wish I had the patience to learn how and a machine that didn’t hate me.

        I like putting music on the blog. I’ll just have to try to find something you like. 🙂

  1. Aw, how sweet!! That definitely looks like a good middle ground… and so soft. 🙂 I haven’t seen a ton of your crochet work (aside from a treasured scarf 😉 ) so it’s really fun to see something you’ve made. ❤

    • Baby things and accessories can be so much fun to make. I’m glad you see middle ground in that color scheme, too. I have a good feeling about it.

      So glad you like that scarf. It looks so good on you.<3

  2. I never learned to crochet from my mother, who LOVES crocheting. But I did inherit her love for making baby things and did lots of that 🙂
    But this teeny sweater+cap is so cute!! Love the Christmassy color combination. Good job Re 🙂

  3. I LOVE that compromise. I think it will appeal to the rocker because it has colors a mature human being would choose, but there’s still PINK to appeal to Mom.

    uhhh, I’m the type to chose black. My poor girly-girl daughter has to rely on handmedowns, and we are so grateful to have them ,because I would NOT know what to buy her.

    • Thanks, Jessie. I thought black accent things looked cute on babies and kids, but it’s amazing how much flak I got about that. And when my girl was first walking, she wore a hippie uniform of denim overalls with either turtlenecks or pale denim collared shirts. I got flak about that, too. But in the good old summertime she was a girlie hippie in pretty cotton dresses I could find on sale. In summer, folks thought I had better judgement. 🙂

  4. Beautiful, you multi-talented creature! I love that. Back in the days I used to know how to crochet but somewhere along the way I lost it. I leave it to the more talented, my fingers are made for typing and digging in the dirt ;). Hope all is well.

    Hugz.

    • I sang that song to my daughter when she was little enough to listen to me. I’m glad it popped into my mind as I wrote this one.

      Glad you like the sweater and hat. It’s good to hear a man’s opinion. The one I made and photographed for Knit Picks was deep blue, perfect for a girl or boy. At least I thought so.

    • My blogging, and writing in general, have curtailed my knitting and crocheting, but I try to fit in little things every once in a while because it can be calming.

      I glad you like this baby set. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. As others have said, I never learned to crochet, but I admire people who do, and you have created a beautiful baby sweater and cap. I think you definitely found the middle ground with your yarn choices and design. Sewing is my passion, although I don’t have much time for it now, or currently have a machine that works either.

I love it when you talk to me ...

