Home » Uncategorized » Thank You President Obama

Thank You President Obama

President Obama in Tucson: "The Forces th...

I’ll resist the urge to ask what took you so long. The reasons you gave make sense, so I’ll let that go. I’m just extremely grateful that you understand that all people deserve the right to be legally married and that now you’ve publicly taken a stand in support of same-sex marriage.

On Monday I was worried about so many things in the world, and within our country. Now I have a little more hope. Thank you.

26 thoughts on “Thank You President Obama

  1. I’m extremely happy about this, especially given the frustrating vote in North Carolina yesterday. I always get mad at candidates for wishy-washing this or saying something outright unsupportive because they are convinced it will be a political suicide. But with the in-office president saying “hey, let’s be FAIR here”? I hope others will see that it’s about time for some justice.

  2. I, too, applaud the declaration. The sad thing is that it will bite into his voter base. We’ll see. Those of us who have advocated for this and for an end to the War in Afghanistan or for other pieces of social agenda dear to our hearts also need to keep in mind the political realities that get incumbents elected or defeated as they ask the public to support a second term of office. I’m proud of this President for declaring. I’m less pleased with Joe Biden who put him in a no-win situation where the timing was no longer in the President’s hands. Biden may have been a hero for the GLBT communitee and support community, yet sometimes what appear heroic in the moment appear foolish and ill-advised in the long view. I hope I’m wrong. Biden and the President are both right. I hope that being right doesn’t mean the American people get it wrong in November.

    • I hope you’re wrong, too, Gordon. Biden has to live with himself if this hurts Obama’s re-election chances, but I’m tired of the games that pass for government here. At least for today, I don’t want to worry about misguided voters. I needed to hear something open, kind and decent from the person in our top government office. I’m trying to hold on to hope that good can prevail. I guess we’ll see.

      • I get ya! Truth-telling and forth-rightness are such an exception to the rule, which is partly why I loved Paul Wellstone here in Minnesota, and why I feel the same about Al Franken. I like boldness and tend toward it myself, so we’re on the same page in gratiude for the honest rarity. I’m still, nevertheless, disappointed that Biden got ahead of the President, whether by design or by a bad habit of shooting from the hip. Let’s hope both statements are viewed as truth-telling and forth-rightness by a majority of the American people, whether they agree with the position or not.

  3. Yes! And to be honest, I don’t think it’s going to make a bit of difference in the voting this fall. He’s still suggesting we leave it to the States (though clearly it will become a Supreme Court decision eventually), and anyone who was firmly decided that same-sex marriage is wrong is probably not an Obama supporter anyway. I think this helps him. I hope so.

    • I really believe that in my bones, Averil. Somehow I do. I’m hoping this brings around more of those young people who think voting doesn’t matter. They’re the ones who can get this done.

      • It is the young people who will get this done…hopefully sooner rather than later…because later would mean soooooooooooooooooo many hurdles to jump or dismantle – all the state constitutional amendments that are being put in place now. Yes. Voting – and participation in PUBLIC life DOES matter.

  4. Sigh well I’m glad he said it and he has credibility as he mentioned a few years ago that a ban is unconstitutional. But I fear he missed a key point; the Supreme Court already ruled for the seperation of church and state. Therefore, so long as states are involved in marriage, they cannot form a ban based on a religious objection. Here in Massachusetts it was a simple matter of two women pointing out to their own government that gays in a strictly technical sense should be allowed to marry according to the state and federal constitution.

    Why is no one driving home that point?

    Still, I’m glad he said it. But it is not about opinions, it’s about the law.

    • What you point out here explains a lot of why my first reaction wasn’t all sunshine and roses. But I do realize that opinions have to change before laws can. I’m hoping the pesident’s statements on this help change two important things: people’s thought processes when deciding their opinions on this subject, and that it gives hope to those who don’t vote because they think nothing will ever change.

      Also, the zealous relious “wrong” voters have become more savvy about finding voter support for their views without specifically referencing religion publicly. When they cite community “tradition” it makes it harder to fight them on a strictly legal basis. They’ve discovered that stirring up hate does the job for their misguided cause just as well. That’s what we’ve really got to fight.

I love it when you talk to me ...

