Home » Creative writing » The Monday Rant #3 – “Bridesmaids”

The Monday Rant #3 – “Bridesmaids”

Bridesmaids (2011 film)

"Bridesmaids" (2011 film) Photo via Wikipedia

I should have known when Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy were nominated for Oscars. Maybe I should have known when “Bridesmaids” got great reviews for being well-written and refreshingly — considering some of the raunchy subject matter — from a woman’s point of view. All I know is that after all this time, no one had warned me that I was going to need a stack of hankies next to my popcorn to get me through it. Can I really be the only one?

Okay, I know I’m a little sensitive. (This post from the past shines a light on that.) But as a woman experiencing failure and the steep climb to make my way out, as well as life without a significant other and (all right, in the spirit of honesty) I’ll cop to having a boatload of quirks that punctuates it all, I cried through approximately 25 per cent of “Bridesmaids.”

I’d waited a long time to see it, and last Friday when I settled in to have some fun and forget real life, the first sequence actually put a little knot in my stomach. The tears began later and lasted so long that the sleeve I was sopping them up with got wet and cold from all the use. The air of realism hit me like a brick. Now, don’t get me wrong. I experienced a lot of belly laughs during “Bridesmaids” too. I laughed especially hard at the awfulness in the snooty dress shop, and by the end of the movie, mercifully, I was all smiles. I love this movie. But sometimes it hit like a hammer.

I discussed this last Saturday with a friend who’d seen it quite a while ago, and she was surprised because she remembered it as a very funny, good time. After I explained my reaction, she said, “Oh, yeah…” and nodded, seeming to understand. Of course, that could have been out of pity for me because of the afore-mentioned sensitivity and infernal quirks. I’m glad she was too nice to say it to my face.

To the other weeping “Bridesmaids” lovers out there (I cannot be the only one!), let’s show some solidarity, okay? Can’t we love this movie and be true to its gut-wrenching nature? It’s time for us sensitive folk to stand up for ourselves and say it’s okay to cry like a baby at home or in a theater, and it’s okay to warn each other about the chances of it happening. I think we need a website to help us know how many napkins to bring to a movie. (Yes, I said napkins. Frequent criers know that regular tissues just fall apart when wet and leave tell-tale fuzz all over your face after you use them. I like to dash into Starbucks to keep my purse stocked so I’m always ready. Isn’t that what Starbucks is for?)

I’m serious about being forewarned. Just as serious as I was back when I yelled out how unfair the ending of “Sommersby” was as the end credits rolled in the theater. At least five people agreed with me loudly, through their own tears, as my sister slunk down next to me in her seat in case anyone she knew was there — because she’s lucky. I’ve never seen her cry at the movies. We won’t go into how many times she’s seen me with tissue fuzz stuck to my face. Before I learned.

31 thoughts on “The Monday Rant #3 – “Bridesmaids”

  1. I think part of the power of that movie was that it is real, not just a female version of a gross out movie. I can’t recall at the moment if I cried (I saw it in the theatre) but I remember feeling a lot of different things throughout the movie. And really, I am a big weeper, so most likely I did. I love cathartic movies that you can relate too, but a warning would be nice. πŸ˜‰

    • Yeah. I loved that realism, too. It was hard not to be specific about the stuff that made me cry, but I wanted to be nice to the folks who haven’t seen it yet. If any of them are weepers, they can’t say I didn’t warn them. Right? πŸ™‚

  2. I agree with jesterqueen – this is the first review that makes me interested in watching it!

    I felt the same way about Sommersby, by the way.

  3. I have not seen it although I agree with Armisen (from Portlandia) when he says Kristen Wigg is a genius. I’m glad on SNL when they stopped typecasting her as the “unpretty” weirdo and finally had her playing sexy characters. Thanks for the idea of Sommersby too, that looks intriguing!

    As for crying, feh. I don’t cry often but when I go on crying jags even commercials set me off. I don’t mean a polite sniffle either. I’d rather be friends with someone who’s senstitive than someone who’s snotty. By the way I was going to recommend District 9, but I shall give warning, I cried for hours afterwards. Is a brilliant film, though, especially if you like good acting. Sharlto Copley is heartbreaking in it.

  4. I have not seen it, but I like Kristen Wig a lot. I can be a snob about movies and I think I worried this movie would be a typical throwaway romcom. But you’ve given me hope and I’ll probably watch it.

    • The business at the snooty dress shop gets pretty far out there, just in case you can’t stand gross-out humor. And there are jokes, but so much of the main character’s struggle about the career she wants, her relationships with men and relationships with friends, and even with her mother, hit some realistic, heartbreaking notes. I cried like a baby because I’ve lived some of it and witnessed some of it, and none of those things were prettied up or glossed over to make a ‘cute’ or ‘palatable’ movie.

      If you see it, I hope you’ll let me know what you think.

  5. Re, i guess it must be me, but my friend Lisa and I thought this film went toe to toe in dumb with “the hangover”. we found it embarrassingly unwatchable. it’s me…and her. i’m sure. continue…

    • I do see what you mean, Tony. If you hated “The Hangover” (the first one that was supposed to be better) I guess you might not be able to see past some of that kind of stuff in this movie. But Jon Hamm’s character made me cry because I knew a guy real close to that and learned how to spot the type a little better because of it. (They don’t quite act like that until they hook you in.)

      I’ve known the aggravating, neurotic ‘friend’ who takes credit for everything. And I’ve stupidly said I didn’t have friends to a person who was reaching out to me, because I was in such a dark place. There’s more, but you get the point.

      I do understand that you didn’t like it. There are a few serious four star movies I’ve seen that I don’t get at all. It’s a personal thing. I’m glad you liked my post though. πŸ™‚

      (And I cried a little while I typed this comment. I know. Pathetic. πŸ™‚ )

  6. I cry at everything. I cried when Rue died in The Hunger Games, I cried at the sappy when-I-met-my-wife-who-died-way-too-soon scene at the end of We Bought a Zoo. I’m an embarrassment, I cried when Aidan broke up with Carrie, both times. Plus I’m home alone tonight, so Netflix Play It Now you better have this one!!!

    • We definitely have this in common. I didn’t see the others you mentioned, but I cried at the Aidan break-ups and some of the Mr. Big ones. Especially in the first movie.

      I hope you like this one. πŸ™‚

      • Not on Play it Now. Watching House instead, while simultaneously contemplating various possibly foolish, possibly liberating, and definitely dramatic time-to-change-my-life scenarios.

  7. I cry at all sorts of movies (and books, and TV commercials), but I don’t remember crying at Bridesmaids, maybe because I watched it on a tiny screen on a plane. πŸ™‚ I did like the movie quite a lot, and I didn’t expect to, because I don’t typically like gross-out comedies. But this one was more than that, and I appreciated it.

    But yeah… I’ve taken to just carrying tissues everywhere, because I know anything can make me cry, and I’ve decided not to be ashamed but just to mop up! I can’t use napkins because my skin is really sensitive and they hurt!

    • Aw, I know what you mean, Lisa, but the trick is to press into the tears, and never rub. At least that’s what works for me.

      In the comments, I told Tony about some of the stuff that made me cry (but I didn’t mention the part about “Wilson.” The movie double-teamed me there! πŸ™‚ )

  8. Great post! Have to say this is a movie I’d never go see. I watch ‘shoot-em-ups’ and want to see a movie either to be entertained with action or to stare at good looking guys. I avoid anything that leans toward thoughtful, heartwarming, romance, etc. I also never cry at movies (not surprising given what I watch), but my husband does. I did yell in a theater once; surprised I didn’t get kicked out. During the first of the new Star Wars movies, at the end when Anakin is crawling out of the lava with no legs and burned, I couldn’t help but yell ‘It’s only a flesh wound!’ in the spirit of Monty Python and my sick humor.

    • I love that, and I love Monty Python. I taught my daughter the routine on the bridge in “M.P. and the Holy Grail” when she was about three, just because. She played the old man, stooping over a little and everything. She was a hoot.

      I’m all for action and eye-candy myself. Especially a good Western and good sci-fi. But I like some of the girly girl stuff, too. For me it really depends on the specific movie. I’m glad you got a hoot out of this post, Lisa. πŸ™‚

  9. I like a good cry, too– I’ll have to put this on my queue! I never used to cry, but lately I’ve been breaking that rule. Saw Hunger Games and cried both times when Rue dies, big snotty gaspy tears, and my daughter (11 year olds think that people are always watching them, even in the dark) kept poking me to make me stop. Isn’t it nice that us big girls can cry whenever we want to?

    • Uh, oh. Now I’m afraid more of you might agree with Tony and think I’ve lost my mind. You’ll have to let me know. (I actually had a bit of a complex before because I thought just about everybody had seen this movie except me.)

  10. Everyone I know raves about it, and constantly quotes from it; when I respond with a puzzled face, I get, “YOU’VE NEVER SEEN BRIDESMAIDS!?!?!”. I suppose I’ll just have to watch it; especially after this review. πŸ™‚

    I am VERY emotional, and easily tear up while watching a movie, if something hits close to home. A girlfriend and I watched a movie called “Like Crazy” last week; it’s available On Demand. We absolutely BALLED for half of the movie. It was heartwrenching, but amazing. It certainly hit close to home – it terrified me, lol – and as the credits rolled I ran upstairs and squeezed Joe as hard as I could with tears still falling pretty heavily from my eyes.

    And as for that Starbucks comment….I keep a stash of their napkins in my car!!!!! But I grab a Chai when I’m in there. πŸ˜‰


    This is the trailer for “Like Crazy”. Even just watching it before posting it here made me tear up. That little phone scene from 0:55 to about 0:58 gets me every time. I know that feeling.

    ❀

    • Thanks for the tip. I read a review of “Like Crazy” when it came out and decided it was one to look out for when it came to tv. I’ll keep my eyes peeled. I’ved liked Anton Yelchin since I first saw him as a little kid in an episode of ER. He blew me away then. (Not that I want to cry. I just like a good movie. πŸ™‚ )

  11. Some years ago I went to see “The Horse Whisperer” with Fi (Mrs. Monkey), my mother-in-law, and Fi’s two sisters (I don’t know how it happened). All of them horsey people. Weep ??!! My ankles were wringing.

I love it when you talk to me ...

