Home » Creative writing » Kelly’s Brain

Kelly’s Brain

Windows Phone 7.5 Start

Windows Phone 7.5 Start (Wikipedia)

Kelly’s “brain” followed wherever she went. Aidan told her so. He laughed when he said it in front of other people. In private, the words were sharp as he spat them out.

The dozen apps on her phone made life easier, gave her something to do while waiting in line, or helped her find information no matter where she was. Aidan regarded them all, and the phone she kept them on, as newfangled crap. After eleven years of marriage she didn’t understand his attitudes anymore. If she liked something, he seemed to automatically despise it.

Checking her email at work, Kelly found the latest from her favorite company listing the months’ new apps. One caught her eye immediately, a simulated remote control with features that made her smile. The price was a little steep for an app, but she made decent money. She downloaded it right away.

That night, lying across the foot of their bed, she faced her husband in his chair studying papers for work. She found herself giggling at the retro look of the remote on the full screen of her phone. After a surreptitious peek at Aidan, she touched the button marked, “Cool.”

“Honey,” she said, “I got a new app.”

He looked at her and tilted his head. Opening his mouth, he didn’t say anything, just heaved breathy breaths.

Kelly sat upright, staring, waiting for a dig to ignore.

His head straightened as he said, “Oh. What does it do?”

“It’s a remote control for people.” She suddenly felt silly and lowered her eyes to the dial. “It’s nothing really.”

When she looked back at him, he smiled a little sideways, his eyes twinkling. “Tell me how it works. I may need to borrow it.”

They both laughed for a moment. Kelly didn’t know what had changed, only that somehow she still liked him, and now he seemed to like her again.

She thought it best to take the app off her phone, quick.

I wrote this for the Trifecta Writing Challenge Week Twenty-One. The prompt was a specific definition of the word, “brain.”Β 

37 thoughts on “Kelly’s Brain

  1. Oh wow. I love that she just used a very subtle button. She COULD have used a lot of different things, but “cool” has a mellow ring. The temptation to overuse it could get very strong. And if he needed to borrow it? Well. Also, I liked the cell phone brain. Many of my friends live and die by their smartphones.

  2. I might be a bit too attached to my phone πŸ™‚ I hardly ever carried my old phone around, but the smartphone… yeah…it’s definitely my ‘phone number storage’ and ‘sense of direction’ brain πŸ™‚
    I like that she uninstalls the app once she kind of realises what happened – instead of going crazy with using buttons and changing him too much.

  3. What a wonderful little story! I’m having a hard time with this prompt, and you made it seem so easy. I love that the couple remained ‘human’ in the this story. This is really nice.

  4. Um, what’s the name of the app? I don’t care what it costs. I wonder what changes will come about when it’s updated. Oh, the damage I could do. (Cue maniacal lady laughter.)

    And great story, by the way. πŸ™‚

  5. I’m up for a THIN app as well. However, I have a very basic phone. It lets me text and call and even sometimes get in touch with my fb self. That’s all this gal needs. πŸ™‚

    (or so I tell myself)

  6. How many times have we all joked that we wished we could use the mute button on people? It probably won’t be long before we can control each other with the press of a button. Nicely done.

    Good luck on the challenge.

  7. Thanks for linking up to Trifecta this week. If you haven’t already done it, you might be interested in clicking on the “Meet Your Fellow Trifectans” tab on our site and introducing yourself there. Hope to see you back on Monday for the new prompt.

  8. Love it! It reminds me of your other story from way back, the one with berry dumplings (dumplings?) and the helmet. I’d be with Kelly, wanting to take the app off my phone… but I think I wouldn’t be able to help myself. I’d re-download it. ;b

    I don’t have a smartphone and sometimes I feel like the only one!

      • Yeah, I’m on the fence about them. I like their convenience but I know I’m an internet addict and I’d hate to become one of those people who can’t have a conversation without pulling out their phone. ;b

I love it when you talk to me ...

