Home » Uncategorized » I’m Not Really a Fashion Model, I’m Just Drawn That Way

I’m Not Really a Fashion Model, I’m Just Drawn That Way

Drawing by Lauren Cheri/Lauren Cheri Designs LLC

Included in a free, gratis, none of this cost me anything (!) evening of revelry at a local department store: a fashion show with lots of humor by the co-emcees, delicious bites and drinks offered by a smiling waitstaff, a cool notebook to take home –ย silk-screened as we watched by representatives of Reuse First, mango cupcakes by Swirlz (my favorite of the three flavors offered)… and then a little daydreaming drawn for me by Lauren Cheri…ย me re-imagined as high fashion model in peasanty blouse and faded jeans. Not bad for a tired writer who dragged herself out on a Thursday night for a little bit of fun. Mmm, not bad at all.

18 thoughts on “I’m Not Really a Fashion Model, I’m Just Drawn That Way

  1. Clever idea to get you involved. Fun drawing. I once had a street artist draw me unawares whilst i was enjoying a mojito in a Havanna bar. I’ll see if I can dig it out. It’s a certain laugh !! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. How fun!! Sounds like a perfect night out. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was just feeling like an evening like this, last week — something entertaining without being passive, that still wouldn’t require me to participate any more than I felt like. This event would have fit that bill wonderfully!

    • It was a nice time. The main emcee for the fashion show said that “Fashion’s Night Out” goes on at the same time all over the world in different stores in many cities to bring back customers and help promote “shopping.” Interesting concept! If I’d mentioned this one beforehand, maybe you could have found a little celebration close to you. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The next one would be another year off, but something to look out for at the end of next summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No worries, I can always catch one in future! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe they really need to promote shopping, though… isn’t that what advertising does already? ;b

  3. You are having fun and I’m sort of wishing I lived near you and I could tag along. But it’s been so long since I went shopping that you’d probably have to hide my wallet lest I get triggered into some kind of spending frenzy. And cupcakes? FUN!

I love it when you talk to me ...

