Home » Progress » Art » “Exhibition” — 100 WC, Week #5

“Exhibition” — 100 WC, Week #5

This week’s prompt is another photo. My 100 word entry follows beneath it. See this week’s other entries here.

It was meant to suggest civilization cutting off its collective cancer– cleanly sliced nubs which had attached it to our heart, symbolizing intent, prostrate positioning showing its rigor mortis where it lay.

The young artist who tried, was appalled by glib interpretations finding no such idea, heartbroken as notions unrelated to understanding intolerance and hate, were spoken in her corner of the exhibition as if she couldn’t hear, lying there as tears soaked the fabric she had sewn for hours. That tough skin her teacher had warned about, would serve her well in the future. Now, it grew slowly, painfully.

22 thoughts on ““Exhibition” — 100 WC, Week #5

  1. Interesting idea here. I’ve always thought of being as being thick-skinned or not – I like the idea of it growing slowly as a result of life’s many disappointments.

  2. I love how you tied the growth of an artist’s thick skin with the fabric. It’s a great image. Something like silk turning to sturdy wool. Hmmm, and there’s a thought, too. That thick skin seen as heavy wool, but a heavy wool blanket is so comforting on a cold night. The fingers are digressing! Nice post.

  3. That last sentence breaks my heart because I’ve felt that same sensation and thought similar things: this will serve me well in the future. Such a poignant two paragraphs!

    • The minute I pushed “publish,” I wondered if what I saw in that photo was so far from what anyone else would see, that this wouldn’t make sense. I’ll calm down, now, and try to grow some of that thicker skin! I’m glad it spoke to you, Lisa! I thought it was kind of sad, too, but it was the story that came to mind.

    • 🙂 Thanks for the vote of confidence! I don’t know, Al. I’m starting to wonder how I can bend these challenges to help me find more of my weaknesses as a writer. I got an idea last week for a much longer short story. I hope to share it here soon, and let this wonderful group we’ve got going have at it. I need to see what’s better now because of what I’ve been learning, and what about the way I tell a story still needs work.

    • Thanks, Averil. I’ve had that feeling a lot. My “thick skin” has been feeling a little tricky, though lately. Too much of it and the work can suffer– too little and I’m petrifed to write. Making any kind of art seems to include doing a stranger, psychological balancing act than most other vocations. When I think of it that way, I wonder why I do it at all– then I remember what ‘vocation’ means. 🙂

  4. Good choice of faunt size – your work is clear and approachable. I do find modern symbolic art interesting. I myself have difficulty explaining my view of things. Your artist needs to lighten up –
    throw some weird meaningless thing together just to see the reactions it can get. Lately that’s what
    I’ve been doing – I find it fun to invite my work to interpretation, especially when it has no meaning.
    I find it funny.

    • Thanks for your feedback, Rastelly. Have you tried this 100 Word Challenge over at The Head’s Office blog?

      I also like a work of art that’s just meant to be fun. If someone else finds deep meaning it, I think that’s fine, too. I find it amazing that so many things can viewed in so many different ways. I also think it’s great to have a specific idea for one’s art. The goal of bringing light to an issue in a way that encourages reflection, rather than instant agreement or disagreement, may be lofty but I’m a fan of lofty goals, too.

  5. Interpretation is a fascinating thing isn’t it!? Should it be as the artist or writer intended or as the viewer/reader perceives? A thought provoking piece which I enjoyed!

  6. I love the idea if a thick skin growing with a steel sculpture. The picture cries out about despair but you have made it turn. Great! Thank you so much for taking up these challenges. I found this one really hard!

I love it when you talk to me ...

