Home » Creative writing » Some Hearts

Some Hearts

I wrote this for the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups #4 at The Head’s Office blog.
This week’s challenge had to use the five words of this week’s prompt
–Ripple  Brood  Evocative  Lilt  Untoward–

and add exactly 100 more words. The challenge is open to all.

You’ll find this week’s other entries here.

Watch at close by 2002ttorry via Flickr

Some Hearts

A brood of observers collect along my life’s shores.
What will they see?
Sense of self? Ripple of heartache? Hand outstretched with
fingers curled to suggest that I want– not need?
This untoward lie, told when truth should be tendered,
doesn’t protect, yet protection is the boundary where I make my search,
seeking my soul in the yards of others, 
when the lilt of my own voice isn’t enough
to keep my course.
I’ve ignored evocative words with simmering truths,
while searching in those yards.
But you can have my heart
if you look into my eyes, and promise to see
what I shouldn’t 
tell. 

30 thoughts on “Some Hearts

  1. Morning Sparks,

    I’m onboard with Single Malt Monkey, it is beautiful. 🙂 I love your usage of the words, the imagery they evoked (ha ha) and your meaning.

    Favorite line: “I’ve ignored evocative words with simmering truths…” that resonates like a well struck chord. Very well done!!!

    There is a poet inside you dying to get out :)….

    C.

    • Thank you, Coco! You and Single Malt Monkey are such amazing poets that your comments mean more to me than you know. I’ve gotten delightfully lost inside poems you’ve posted– that you like this one from me just warms my heart. Thank you again.

  2. Such depth! Love phrases such as ‘my life’s shores’, ‘ripples of heartache’ and ‘evocative words with simmering truths’. The imagery created by this piece is fab! A triumph, well written!

  3. I really like this. Understated but really strong. Well done for getting the given words in. Great to see your talent being shared on the 100WCGU! Thank you!

    • Thank you, Julia! I appreciate these 100 Word challenges. The practice they give me, with focusing and fine tuning to achieve the word count, has helped with my other writing, too. Thanks for your encouragement.

  4. This is just beautiful. As well as the 5 beautiful words, I love ‘shimmering’ and especially the phrase “This untoward lie, where truth should be tendered”. It’s just magical.

I love it when you talk to me ...

