Home » Progress » Art » Meat Lady Gaga

Meat Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga holding a speech at National Equalit...

Image via Wikipedia

All right. I guess I’ve had enough time to figure out what I think about Lady Gaga’s meat suit, or dress, or whatever the hell it was. First of all, it was a disgusting sight for me because I’m a vegetarian. But mainly, I just don’t think the explanation she gave for it on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” quite worked. I get the gist of it, and I don’t question her motives, but I’ve got to say that it just doesn’t make sense to me. It’s like the main problem I have with writing this blog: it’s important to me to write it as well as I can– to be expressive yet clear, and as truthful and interesting as I can be– but I really do believe that every writer can use a thoughtful and invested editor. When a person wants to be heard by the public, make a statement of any kind, it’s good to have the unbiased ear of someone else to help you see if you’re saying what you think you’re saying. You need the non-yes man. You don’t have to take their advice, but it’s good to hear what they have to say. Creating in a vacuum is rarely successful unless you’re only goal is to communicate with yourself.

I don’t think editing crossed Lady Gaga’s mind when she and her stylist thought up a suit with the power to offend meat eaters and non-meat eaters alike. (Side note: if a meat eater can go to the butcher’s and look over all the meat in order to choose the best dead cow part, or whatever, for their meal, why would they have a problem with looking at a meat suit? Just wondering.) Anyway, Ms. Gaga, if you very often and for no real reason run around in next to nothing, why would you say you don’t want to be thought of as a piece of meat? We all have meat on our bones. It’s just that we’re human meat, and we use our minds, and we’re social and we should be decent to each other and our world. Now, I don’t care how little a person chooses to wear. It’s their choice. But for a statement (artistic or otherwise) to have even the remotest chance of being understood, it needs to make some kind of sense, or at least evoke the sort of feeling that helps to shed light on your subject. Equal rights for all human beings makes sense. Wearing dead meat has so little to do with it, that it dilutes one’s ability to be heard.

A longer brainstorming session in regard to her costume and it’s explanation, with an understanding among all in attendance that there would be no penalty for disagreement, may have better served her quest to illuminate an important issue. In other words, she could have used an editor.

And one last thing, we really are all pieces of meat. We’re just not dead meat, yet. I daresay that every lion knows this.

Lions in love!

by fanz via Flickr

2 thoughts on “Meat Lady Gaga

  1. Pingback: Smackdown! | Sparks In Shadow

I love it when you talk to me ...

