Home » Progress » Art » Here I Am

Here I Am

My first experience writing a pattern!
June 28, 2010 · Leave a Comment · Edit This

I’ve always wanted to write, and I love to crochet and knit. For years I’ve created designs for friends and family as gifts. I’ve recently realized that I should be writing these patterns down. If I thought they were beautiful enough to give to people I care about, then why wouldn’t I write out the patterns for future reference? All I can say is that it took me a while to attribute to my work the value it deserves.

I’ve also been trying to work on a novella that seems to be stuck at chapter one because I’m the sort of writer who needs to be immersed. I don’t compartmentalize that kind of task very well, and there’s no space in my life right now for an exclusive area of concentration. This blog feels like a good way for me to exercise my writing muscles, while sharing some thoughts about life, and nurturing the process of creation in all the areas that interest me.

The first crochet pattern I worked on purposefully from beginning to end, took me over a year of contemplation, ripping out stitches, wondering why I couldn’t get what was in my head to work in the garment… and by the end, something that was new to me. In creating a baby sweater, I wanted its stucture to be classic as well as modern but low key, something that would look great on a child without announcing itself too loudly. I was thinking about the beauty of old farm furniture with bare spots in the paint, and how the simplest things can often be the stongest in use and esthetics. I ended up with a piece I would have wanted for my own baby when she was young, and I called it the Rustic Raglan.

Refusing to settle for huge holes in a non-lace garment, shaping the raglan properly was my biggest challenge. I’ve added a link to Knit Picks, if you’d like to check it out. More later (of course) about lots of what’s on my mind.

2 thoughts on “Here I Am

  1. I wish I could knit, and I’ve always admired those who have that kind of attention and patience. But isn’t writing a little like knitting? Bringing the separate threads together so you don’t see the seams? Whenever I write, I feel like I’m doing the metaphorical equivalent of braiding someone’s hair. I look forward to reading more!

    • Yes, like braiding hair! My biggest struggle with my writing is to make sure that the wisps of wayward hair that fly in the breeze, are there on purpose — adding, hopefully, a rustic sort of embellishment, and not a distracting sloppiness. I’m grateful to have piqued your interest!

I love it when you talk to me ...

